KRISTIN K CHARTERS

FISHING REVIEWS

Welcome to our Portland Maine fishing charter reviews page. This page displays testimonials from our Facebook and Google pages. You may also read our reviews on TripAdvisor.  Feel free to like us on Facebook to receive updates via Facebook or bookmark this page and check back often for new photos. Send us your photos after your Kristin K Charter and we will post them!

facebook
recommends

Captain Ben made our family fishing trip fantastic! Our kids caught a ton of fish and also saw seals and dolphins! Definitely recommend to any family in or visiting Maine!

Katie Williams June 14, 2022
tripadvisor

Fished for 4 hours with Captain Ben on Saturday morning. Ben was very polite and made sure everyone in our group of all different levels of fishing experience had a great time. We started catching mackerel for live bait and went back inside the harbor targeting striped bass. We

Greg G June 1, 2022
tripadvisor

Ben is a wonderful captain! He is very personable, helpful and knowledgeable. We started off our trip fishing for mackerel to use as live bait. We also caught some pollock and gunner. Ben lead us to another spot, and we got to witness an incredible surface feed frenzy. Striped

Ashley B June 1, 2022
facebook
recommends

My family and I had the best morning fishing! Captain Ben was amazing! He’s knowledgeable and kindly answered all our questions. Our youngest who was just so excited to catch a fish caught many. We can’t wait to go out again next year!

Dot Carr October 11, 2021
tripadvisor

My son and I did the 2 hour trip with Ben this past Sunday. With only 2 hours we had hoped to catch a couple fish, but we actually ended up doing much better than that. Our first fish came within minutes and they kept on coming for the entire trip. We did not count, but we

Michael D October 1, 2021
facebook
recommends

Had an awesome morning! We hammered the mackerel right off the bat, and caught my first bluefish! Ben is a knowledgeable local captain. We grew up fishing the same spots as kids that constantly produce. The out-of-towners I brought along had a blast! Highly recommended!

Matt Garrett September 27, 2021
google

Our day on the water with Ben was a blast! Started with bait fishing for mackerel, biting so fast no time for pictures! He then took us to a great spot and caught 5 striped bass. They really put up a good fight! Ben knows his fishing spots well and is so helpful and friendly! He made the experience seem like we were pros! Don't hesitate to join him on a fishing trip on the Kristin K.

Rhonda Hall September 22, 2021
google

What a great trip! Two couples, three new to fishing, experienced and fun Captain Ben! Everyone brought fish on board! Great trip. Caught fish, spent quality time with friends and even saw several historic sites along the way. CPT Ben, we will be back!

Larry Meder September 20, 2021
google

Me and three friends went striper fishing and had a blast! Ben was an awesome captain (and cool to hang with) and knew where all the spots were. We went to hook some baitfish and immediately had perfect mackerel on the line. Once we stocked up on mackerel we headed to our first great spot to catch striper. We all were able to catch striper in a few different spots while enjoying cold beverages on the boat.. there a was also a nice, clean head (bathroom) on the boat, which is great! I would highly recommend this boat and captain to anybody wanting to go on the water, fishing or not.

Drew Robbins September 15, 2021
google

Myself and my 7-yr old went out for a 4-hr charter and had a blast. Captain Ben knows the bay really well, and it showed. A great day of fishing!

Ryan Ciriello September 12, 2021
google

Such an incredible morning on Casco Bay. Kids probably caught 100-150 Mackerel! We even saw a dolphin! Captain Ben was fantastic! We arrived a few minutes early and he was ready and waiting for us! He got us to where we were going within 10 mins. He had friends out on the water that radio-ed over their location. Within 30 seconds of the lines being in the water, both kids had a fish on! Although the boys were catching Mackeral (small fish), there were often 3-5 on the line at the same time so they definitely felt a good fight! In the few minutes that there weren't fish on, we watched lobster boats off-loading their traps. We saw seals swimming and even caught a dolphin on video! Captain Ben was so knowledgeable. He heard the dolphin before he saw it, which enabled us the opportunity to grab a phone for a video. This trip was eventful, entertaining and informative! My only regret in booking with Kristin K Charter, is booking so late in the season. The trip was so much, it left us wanting more! Whether you're a local (like me) or from “away,” this is a great opportunity to experience Maine! Can’t wait to do this again!

Lisa Duggan September 3, 2021
google

What an amazing time we had! There was no shortage of fish. Fish after fish, Ben was a great captain. We will definitely be booking again.

David Smedy September 3, 2021
google

If you’re looking to get out on the ocean and catch some sharks captain Ben is your man. My father and I previous just went and he put us some great blue sharks. Ben knows his stuff, I would highly recommend him for a great time fishing out on the water!

Jackson Jones September 2, 2021
google

Captain Ben was AMAZING! We had an epic day. We caught blue shark and a mako!! Captain Ben was as excited as we were and he was fantastic and patient with us when things got a little hairy!! I would highly recommend Kristin K charters to anyone who is looking to have a great experience! Once in a lifetime opportunity and lifetime memories made today!!

BILLIE JO Vanorman September 1, 2021
tripadvisor

Ben truly loves to fish. I’ve fished with many charters all over the planet, and not all really do. He put us in a great spot and within minutes we were on the bite! He was right there to instruct if necessary and kept us on the fish all day long. He’s a pro and it shows. He

Matt K September 1, 2021
tripadvisor

Can't say enough about Captain Ben and our experience on the Kristin K. Caught for great sharks, one being a nice mako. Captain Ben made dreams come true today. Highly recommend him for a great adventure

Billie Jo V September 1, 2021
google

We did the four hour bay trip. Captain Ben is a great fisherman and an even better guy. We learned a great deal about fishing for striped bass, good local places, and caught 15 or so fish. As a side note, the trip we chose meant being able to see the shore and land made it a lot easier not to get seasick. I’m sure the 8-hour full day deep sea fishing trip with Captain Ben would be an incredible experience.

Leslie Watson August 25, 2021
google

Above and Beyond 5 star customer service!!! Whether you’re a pro fisherman or someone with no experience at all. Whether you’re looking for a 6- hour guys trip or just 4 hours of family fun. Kristin K Charters is the place for you! Captain Ben does it all.

Jesse Morris August 15, 2021
google

Hands down the best captain for shark fishing. Says he's been taking people out for the last 18 years. & When a shark bites, he still to this day gets pumped up and we loved that! He let us experience the fight of a shark & gave helpful tips while reeling the shark in. We will definitely be back next year!

Bradley Ambrosino August 14, 2021
google

Great day! Thanks so much😊

Heather Wenzel August 12, 2021
google

Ben, for the past YEAR, planning this AMAZING & UNFORGETTABLE trek 20 miles out into Ocean has been nothing short of wonderful... he's patient, professional, easy to work with & super informative. Responsive. All that it takes to make a GREAT business owner, and professional. I sent the most loved men of mine out with him shark 🦈 fishing... they caught 6 *almost 7!*, fought for them, had the time of their lives, and created memories that will last a lifetime! Thank you so much Ben!

Tina August 10, 2021
google

Ben does a real good job with the kids!

Richard Grylls August 9, 2021
google

Never had done anything quite like this before, but it was well worth the price of admission. Captain Ben was personable, professional, and also knowledgeable about where the sharks were. I had a blast and will definitely be back next year! Recommended.

MrPSaun August 8, 2021
google

Just went fishing with my family and had a wonderful time. Captain Ben is awesome and he does his best to make sure everyone enjoys their time!

B D August 7, 2021
facebook
recommends

Best captain ever! This year makes 8 years running on the Kristin K!

Mikaela Nelson August 4, 2021
tripadvisor

My son and I fished an all day shark trip with Capt Ben Gardner august 2021. Wow ! is all the both of us have to say about Capt ben and the experience! He is professional, incredible knowledge of the ocean and all it has to offer. He knows where the fish are and is going to

Jon J August 1, 2021
tripadvisor

I’m an avid fisherman from the state of ND. We came out to Maine to take my daughter to college. So I booked a 4 hour striped bass trip with Captain Ben. That was the correct decision!!! The most professional, knowledgeable and passionate guide I’ve ever met. He got more excited

Ron W August 1, 2021
google

From beginning of planning to finishing our trip, Captain Ben was helpful and knowledgeable. I travelled with my family from San Antonio, TX and Captain Ben made sure that we safely went out on the water after making some adjustments to our original plan due to unexpected weather and we were still able to have a great experience and catch fish!

google

We've had a fantastic experience all 3 times that we've been out with Capt. Ben. Striper fishing is a great time and Ben knows where to find them. I'd definitely suggest Kristen K Charters if you're looking to fish in Maine!

Riley Kutzli July 29, 2021
google

Capt Ben is an expert fisherman and guide. He knows where the fish and sharks are and will put you right on top of them. He is great with all group members, regardless of experience/skill level. You won’t regret booking with him!

Janice Scott July 26, 2021
facebook
recommends

Captain Ben knew the answer to every question my son had for him. The boat was nice and well prepared AND we caught blue sharks!!! It was an experience my kids and I will never forget!

Dana Seisler July 23, 2021
google

Captain Ben was an amazing fisherman who knew where the good spots were. We caught 15 fish in just 1.5 hours. We had to cut our trip short due to sudden thunderstorms. He got us safely to shore.

Heather Alsip July 20, 2021
google

Great time! Thank you!

Bryan Grant July 15, 2021
facebook
recommends

My son and I had a blast with Captain Ben!!

google

Captain Ben was incredible - Super knowledgeable, and even managing to coach my fiancé to catch a striper on her first ever fishing trip. 100% coming back!

Adam Szklanny July 5, 2021
tripadvisor

Fishing with Captain Ben was the best part of our trip! My son and I had a weeklong road trip with many stops in NY, MA and Maine. The one thing my son couldn't stop raving about was fishing with Captain Ben. He kept in touch ahead of our trip letting me know about the

turtlemom28 July 1, 2021
tripadvisor

Captain Ben is incredible! He was incredible knowledgeable about the area, was in regular contact with me prior to our trip about what trip(s) would be the best for our goals, weather conditions, etc., and a ton of fun to chat with while fishing. He even managed to coach up my

Adam S July 1, 2021
google

Been out with Ben at Kristen K Charters a number of times and highly recommend him! Very knowledgeable and helpful - and a lot of fun!

Adam Levy June 27, 2021
google

Epic day on the water in Casco bay. We had an amazing family experience. We'll see you again in August.

Daniel Aho June 23, 2021
google

Capt. Ben is the best!!! We caught more fish than we’ve ever seen in our whole lives! Plus dolphins?! Can’t recommend this enough! Our kids had a blast too. See you next year!

Stevie Aho June 22, 2021
google

My wife and I, new to visiting Maine, were extremely impressed with Captain Ben's knowledge of fishing, and food in the area. We purchased 2 guided days, and even in sub par weather we ended up catching fish. Great guy with family ties to Maine's extensive fishing heritage. We would highly recommend to any level of fisherman, he is phenomenal!

Eric Reed June 20, 2021
google

Took my kids (11 and 15) and step father (79) on a 6 hours trip and had an absolutely fantastic time. Couldn't have found a nicer Captain. Looking forward to next year already!

Adam Merrithew June 19, 2021
facebook
recommends

My family and I had the best time fishing with Captain Ben! It was an exciting, safe and memorable experience! We caught more fish than we could count and enjoyed a beautiful day on the water. Highly recommend for first time sea fishers and young children!

yelp

Captain Ben provided us with a great fishing experience during our first trip to Maine. I'm so glad he offered a family trip. He answered all of my 9 year...

Teresa R. June 8, 2021
google

Great charter - highly recommended. Capt Ben will make sure you have a great day on the water!

Chris Geib June 3, 2021
google

Capt. Ben was nothing but awesome! Today was windy but he was determined for us to catch some fish. He was informative and helpful if you were inexperienced with fishing. He kept us informed about the weather before we went out and made sure we knew what was going on. He wanted to make sure we had the best day possible. We thoroughly enjoyed this and we highly recommend him! You will not be disappointed!

Jace Sutton May 29, 2021
facebook
recommends

Captain Ben was AMAZING! He was very nice and helpful with someone inexperienced at fishing. If you are experienced you can do your thing and he will help if needed. It was a windy day but he was determined that we would catch fish and that we did. Thank you so much for ending our vacay with a bang. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️🎣

google

We just did a two hour fishing trip with Capt’n Ben and it was awesome! We took our 10 year old son and his 11 year old friend. Ben took us to an area where the boys caught a ton of fish & we plan to go back again! If anyone is looking for a fishing trip and not sure who to book through, don’t look anywhere else! Book with Capt’n Ben and you will NOT be disappointed! He was so great with the kids and extremely personable! 5 star trip for sure! We will be back again Capt’n Ben!

Hannah Avery May 28, 2021
google

We just did a two hour fishing trip with Capt’n Ben and it was awesome! We took our 10 year old son and his 11 year old friend. Ben took us to an area where the boys caught a ton of fish & we plan to go back again! If anyone is looking for a fishing trip and not sure who to book through, don’t look anywhere else! Book with Capt’n Ben and you will NOT be disappointed! He was so great with the kids and extremely personable! 5 star trip for sure! We will be back again Capt’n Ben!

A Google User May 28, 2021
google

My wife and I took our 5 year old daughter out fishing with Ben and we could not have been happier. Not only did we catch fish but my daughter caught her first saltwater fish. Ben was extremely accommodating when it came to giving my daughter the best fishing experiance possable. We plan on making a yearly family trip on the kirsten k!

Adam Balodis May 27, 2021
google

Without a doubt, 5 out of 5 for amazing communication from Captain Ben! Unfortunately, Mother Nature decided to throw rain and wind at us over the course of the 2 days we were visiting the area so we weren't able to go out on the sunset cruise. However, Captain Ben stayed in contact with me throughout my trip and kept me up to date with what was happening at every turn. If we're ever back in the area, I will absolutely book again!

facebook
recommends

Without a doubt, 5 out of 5 for amazing communication from Captain Ben! Unfortunately, Mother Nature decided to throw rain and wind at us over the course of the 2 days we were visiting the area so we weren't able to go out on the sunset cruise. However, Captain Ben stayed in contact with me throughout my trip and kept me up to date with what was happening at every turn. If we're ever back in the area, I will absolutely book again!

google

Ben is awesome! We caught a 22” striper and had several other hits. Ben is a very knowledgeable captain; this was our second time with him and we will definitely be back again! Highly recommend for all ages and experience levels!

google

Captain Ben was very pleasant to ship with! It was a new experience for our family and he made us all feel very welcome. Not a heavy fish day, but Ben was very honest about weather conditions and we still had a blast! Highly recommend and will book again in the future!

Chris Mackey May 7, 2021
facebook
recommends

Captain Ben was very pleasant to ship with! It was a new experience for our family and he made us all feel very welcome. Not a heavy fish day, but Ben was very honest about weather conditions and we still had a blast! Highly recommend and will book again in the future!

Chris Mackey May 7, 2021
tripadvisor

Captain Ben was very pleasant to ship with! It was a new experience for our family and he made us all feel very welcome. Not a heavy fish day, but Ben was very honest about weather conditions and we still had a blast! Highly recommend and will book again in the future!

Chris M May 1, 2021
google

First trip with captain Ben and it will not be my last. Great charter, very professional, Ben brings a level of energy that you can’t help but admire. Came away with a cooler full of haddock and cusk. Got to see whales breaching and seals playing near the boat. Can’t wait for my next trip!! ***Update*** From my first trip to my most recent all of my charters with Ben have been great. From ground fish to stripers to sharks Ben has been my go to for fishing saltwater in New England. While I have options closer to home I always find myself making the trip to Portland to go fishing with Ben.

Cameron Strouse March 28, 2021
google

My son and I have been fishing with Ben for a few years. He is always professional and prompt with a great attitude. The conversations are always fun and interesting. We have made this a must do every year!

Marty Babin March 28, 2021
google

Ben is a very accommodating and skilled captain. He has never failed to put us on fish. It is a most enjoyable fishing trip in all manners.

Bruce De Lugo March 27, 2021
google

Going out with Kristin K Charters was one of the best decisions we made on our two week Maine trip. Captain Ben was fun, knowledgeable and definitely a family guy; we had our 6 year old and 18 month old with us and he made sure we all had a blast. We brought home a bunch of mackerel and hooked some pollock and cudder - even a Black Sea Bass. This morning is one of the best memories from our trip - can’t wait to come back and do it again!

Michael La Charite October 24, 2020
facebook
recommends

Going out with Kristin K Charters was one of the best decisions we made on our two week Maine trip. Captain Ben was fun, knowledgeable and definitely a family guy; we had our 6 year old and 18 month old with us and he made sure we all had a blast. We brought home a bunch of mackerel and hooked some pollock and cunner - even a Black Sea Bass. This morning is one of the best memories from our trip - can’t wait to come back and do it again!

Mike LaCharite October 24, 2020
yelp

Going out with Kristin K Charters was one of the best decisions we made on our two week Maine trip. Captain Ben was fun, knowledgeable and definitely a...

Mike L. October 24, 2020
google

Capt Ben was amazing. Very knowledgeable of the area, awesome with the kids. Gave us a wonderful tour of the cove. Light houses and their history, the forts, and the highlight was "Seal Rock". We were lucky enough to have about a dozen seals playing on the rocks and swimming. Was the highlight of our trip, will schedule with Ben next rime we are in the area. Next time for fishing!

Cody Gibson October 12, 2020
tripadvisor

Going out with Kristin K Charters was one of the best decisions we made on our two week Maine trip. Captain Ben was fun, knowledgeable and definitely a family guy; we had our 6 year old and 18 month old with us and he made sure we all had a blast. We brought home a bunch of

Mike La Charite October 1, 2020
tripadvisor

Capt Ben was amazing. Very knowledgeable of the area, awesome with the kids. Gave us a wonderful tour of the cove. Light houses and their history, the forts, and the highlight was "Seal Rock". We were lucky enough to have about a dozen seals playing on the rocks and swimming.

Cody Gibson October 1, 2020
tripadvisor

The best birthday party we could ever ask for my 14 year old son and his friends . Fishing was amazing! Perfect weather as well. Capitan was helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. Definitely coming back. Thank you so much!

Kasia K October 1, 2020
google

We had such a great morning with Captain Ben this past weekend! Can’t wait to go back next year!

Amanda Rearick September 21, 2020
tripadvisor

We had the best time this past weekend! We were planning our next trip before we even got off the dock! Captain Ben was great!

Amanda R September 1, 2020
tripadvisor

Capt Ben gave us our money’s worth on this trip! We all caught nice size blue sharks and got the whale encounter of a lifetime. Saw tuna jumping out of the water and all in a days trip. Thanks Ben!

Mark H September 1, 2020
tripadvisor

We took my 5 year old son out for his birthday (he’ll be six in a day) and he LOVED it! Captain Ben was awesome, he knew where to go to get my little guy his birthday wish! Such a fun day on the water, and memories for a lifetime! Thank you Kristin K Charters!

Jamie P September 1, 2020
google

This is the best saltwater Maine Guide around. From sharks to striped bass, can’t go wrong with Capt.Ben!! He is great with children also! Can’t. Recommend him strong enough!!!!

Linda Lowell August 12, 2020
facebook
recommends

This is the best saltwater Maine Guide around. From sharks to striped bass, can’t go wrong with Capt.Ben!!

Linda Lowell August 12, 2020
facebook
recommends

Went shark fishing on August 10th and had a blast. Would definitely book another trip with Ben and Kristin K charters if back in the area.

Bill Hitzelberger August 11, 2020
facebook
recommends

We had the best time. Capt Ben was very friendly and accommodating. He clearly knows his stuff and will work hard to get the fish on. We caught 9 different species. on our Ground fishing trip. We will be back with our family to fish with him. Thank you Ben!

Jennifer Lee August 8, 2020
tripadvisor

I have booked with Kristin K for that last couple years and captain Ben is always a person who can put you on fish .An example of this is this year when hurricane Laura passed through and dropped the ocean temps from 68 F to 58 F . He traveled 22 miles to the South for better

Aric F August 1, 2020
tripadvisor

My father-in-law and I have been on 2 fishing trips with Captain Ben and Kristen K Charters. Ben put us on the fish on both trips. Our first trip was ground fishing in May of 2019 and our second trip was light/small tackle fishing for Striper in late August. Ben is very

Riley K August 1, 2020
tripadvisor

This was the best time I have had with my family in years! Shark fishing is amazing! We spent an 8-hour day with our teenagers without electronics and with teamwork and laughs and high fives! We caught 15 sharks. It was a beautiful day we will never forget. Captain Ben is

Daydream628424 August 1, 2020
tripadvisor

Beautiful boat and great action! 2nd time fishing for stripers with Capt Ben and we've caught 6-10 each time. He also reached out to us a day early to push up our time to avoid a storm, it worked out great.

Cooper August 1, 2020
tripadvisor

I booked a shark fishing trip with Capt Ben on the Kristin K on 8/19, and it could not have worked out any better! Here you have an outstanding guide, safe sturdy boat, sound gear and most importantly FISH! We caught and released 16 Blue Sharks the biggest estimated at 11 feet

pawatki7 August 1, 2020
tripadvisor

Amazing service. Very quick to respond. We needed a schedule change last minute and Capt. Ben was very accommodating, quick to respond and flexible as could be. We took my 2 year old and Captain Ben’s experience with kids was comforting. My daughter and family had a blast! We

Eliana August 1, 2020
tripadvisor

We had an all day shark fishing experience for the 2nd time with Kristen K Charters and he was a great host and an even better Cpt. The man knows where to go and how to attract sharks to the boat. 2 years in a row we experienced whales and dolphins on our trip as well as

mdecarlo73 August 1, 2020
tripadvisor

Do you want a sweet shark fishing experience? Don't hesitate and book it with Kristin K Charters. We went on August 10th and although the swells were rolling, once we got approximately 17 miles out everything calmed right down and the sun came out!. We waited for about 1.5 hours

Jennifer h August 1, 2020
tripadvisor

We go every shark fishing woth captain ben every year! He has never let us down and he is very fun to be around!

joedog63 August 1, 2020
google

We had a great day of fishing with Captain Ben and Kristin K Charters! We caught so many ground fish and a shark!!! Wow! Ben was very attentive and helpful to my two teenage children and 75 year old Mom. We highly recommend Kristin K Charters and have chartered with Ben for many years. Best fishing charter in Portland!

William July 30, 2020
google

Had a great 2 hour kid-friendly trip, fishing near Portland Head light. Captain Ben is knowledgeable and ensured that everyone had a good time. Look forward to a longer cruise to deeper water in the future!

Rich Cotich July 20, 2020
google

We had a blast on Capt. Ben’s boat. Ben is a knowledgeable fishing guide and was fantastic at getting my 6 yr old in on the fishing action. I highly recommend Kristin K Charter!

Kelly Haar July 9, 2020
facebook
recommends

We had a great experience! Will rebook when we come up next!

tripadvisor

We had a great day of fishing with Captain Ben and Kristin K Charters! We caught so many ground fish and a shark!!! Wow! Ben was very attentive and helpful to my two teenage children and 75 year old Mom. We highly recommend Kristin K Charters and have chartered with Ben for

WHusarek July 1, 2020
tripadvisor

Great day on the water with Captain Ben shark fishing! This guy knows what he’s doing and where to go! We will definitely be booking another trip sometime!

James M July 1, 2020
facebook
recommends

Very professional. Been on two different trips with Ben. One shark fishing with guys from work and once with my family. Both amazing trips. Worth the money.

Miles Hafner June 27, 2020
facebook
recommends

We had the 4 hour charter with captain Ben!! He was amazingly patient with my 10 and 7 year olds!! We first went and caught makeral and then went fishing for stripers with them!! We caught so many we lost count!! I would recommend this charter to anyone and we plan on going again soon!!

Amanda Fennell June 21, 2020
google

Captain Ben took me and my 3 girls out today for the 2 hour family trip and we had a blast. Capt. Ben was professional, knowledgeable and most importantly patient! We caught some pollock, mackerel and cod. I would definitely go out with him again and recommend him for an affordable and fun couple of hours.

Dan Wehr June 20, 2020
facebook
recommends

We had a great time and caught a lot of fish! I would definitely do it again.

Cristi Ayotte Nadeau September 29, 2019
google

Awesome captain and knowledgeable on shark fishing. Good camaraderie. Last but not least sharks! We landed a Mako and some blues. He may be the local mako whisper. I definitely recommend booking a trip! We will definitely book again.

Zachary Blakeman September 17, 2019
facebook
recommends

Great captain and nice boat! Three sharks caught on a wonderful day. Will definitely be scheduling another trip soon...

Zachary Blakeman September 15, 2019
facebook
recommends

Awesome shark hunt with the Kristen K. Awesome Mako with 2 huge jumps and also 2 large blue sharks one definitely over 10’ and 300+#. Awesome day highly recommend!

Chris John September 15, 2019
facebook
recommends

If you’re in Portland and looking to fish look no further than Captain Ben. I went shark fishing with Capt. Ben and 2 buddies. We had a total blast. We’ve been on several types of charters around the U.S. and Mexico. My experience with Ben was by far my favorite. Whether it’s shark you’re looking for or something else you will not be disappointed.

Tom Stevenson September 2, 2019
google

Had some friends in from out of town to go on a fishing trip. We read great reviews of Kristin K. We didn't know what to expect on a shark fishing trip. Captain Ben did not disappoint. Had so much fun we are considering making this an annual event.

Ian Cable September 1, 2019
tripadvisor

I have known Capt Ben for a while, from our old Ice fishing time, and have always followed his photos and stories on the seas, whether it's chasing ground-fish, in-shore stripers or mackerel for kids, or the giant fish with teeth off shore. I have always wanted to go out. I

gasdoc September 1, 2019
tripadvisor

Awesome captain and knowledgeable on shark fishing. Good camaraderie. Last but not least sharks! We landed a Mako and some blues. He may be the local mako whisper. I definitely recommend booking a trip! We will definitely book again.

zacharyb0609 September 1, 2019
tripadvisor

For our 25th wedding anniversary my wife purchased a day of shark fishing for us from Kristen K. I’ll admit that being a “fly only” guy I was very optimistic. Well... wtf... it was the best day of fishing I’ve ever been guided on. I have no idea how many sharks we caught but it

steelheadguide September 1, 2019
tripadvisor

If you’re in Portland and looking to fish look no further than Captain Ben. I went shark fishing with Capt. Ben and 2 buddies. We had a total blast. We’ve been on several types of charters around the U.S. and Mexico. My experience with Ben was by far my favorite. Whether it’s

tgs303 September 1, 2019
facebook
recommends

Captain Ben was fantastic. I brought three kids ranging in age from 7 to 13 and they all want to go more. I would highly recommend booking a charter with Kristin K Charters. Can’t wait until next years trip.

Kevin Fenton August 20, 2019
google

If you're looking for a Shark fishing experience, look no further than Captain Ben and Kristin K Charters. Not only is Captain Ben knowledgeable and friendly, he is spot on with his timing and expertise in all things SHARKS. Despite the swells between 2-4 feet, we had the experience of a lifetime. Chum in the water, oil slick away and within 1 hour or so VOILA! Blue Sharks galore! They put up a good fight and Captain Ben was there every step of the way with us. Telling us exactly what to expect, what to do and the best way to enjoy the experience when you get them to the side of the boat. Bonus tip: Captain Ben even knew the signs to look for BEFORE the Sharks arrived and we were in the MIDDLE OF THE OCEAN! When the fin breaches the water, your adrenaline starts to roar. Do yourself a favor and book your trip with Captain Ben. Our group has done a lot of things together over the years and this was hands down THE BEST one yet. Thanks, Captain Ben, for everything!

Russ Queen August 13, 2019
tripadvisor

I had no idea what to expect and was not really looking forward to this trip, fish gross me out. But I had so much fun! Me, my husband, and our two kids (ages 7 and 9) caught somewhere around 50 fish in under two hours! We did catch and release. Like I said, fish gross me out.

Bond923 August 1, 2019
facebook
recommends

The most fantastic experience fishing we’ve ever had! Ben is knowledgeable and experienced. You will love it!!!

facebook
recommends

Had an awesome day of fishing! Saw some dolphins and got some good size stripers among other fish😀

Crystal Strouse July 27, 2019
facebook
recommends

Highly recommended, friendly and personable. Thanks for a great day on the water Ben!

google

I just got back from my charter with captain Ben. My wife and I had an absolutely amazing time. He got us right on the fish, and we pulled in a couple nice stripers. We’ll definitely be back later this summer for another charter. I would highly recommend this charter.

Andrew June 27, 2019
google

Ben was great,he was very good fishing with my boys.He was very engaged and made,the trip enjoyable

james mullett June 17, 2019
google

Outstanding trip this week with Capt Ben at Kristin K Charters. Capt Ben was the consummate professional and a fantastic guide. The boat was immaculate and equipment class A! We boated several different types of fish and are heading back to Texas with a cooler full of Haddock filets. Just a great trip and would highly recommend Capt Ben and Kristin K Charters. You will not regret it!!!!

Francie Giles June 13, 2019
tripadvisor

Heading back to Texas after a great day fishing with Capt Ben. You know you are off to a great start when your Captain meets you in the parking lot to show you the best place to park. The boat was immaculate, fully fueled, baitfish caught, and we were off without any wait. We

Brett G June 1, 2019
tripadvisor

First trip with captain Ben and it will not be my last. Great charter, very professional, Ben brings a level of energy that you can’t help but admire. Came away with a cooler full of haddock and cusk. Got to see whales breaching and seals playing near the boat. Can’t wait

Cameron S June 1, 2019
tripadvisor

I cannot even begin to describe how awesome Captain Ben and the ground fishing trip was. He was prompt in communication and very clear, as well prompt at the dock. We immediately got out and starting hitting haddock most of the day. He always makes sure everyone is ready to drop

Joel E May 1, 2019
google

Me and my family have chartered with Kristin K charters for 3 years in a row. We have done full day offshore trips and caught some nice fish. First class outfit I would highly recommend. We will be back again for sure!!

Louise Giroux October 23, 2018
google

I went fishing with Ben on Kristin Kay Charters 4 times this year. The beginning of the year was a little slow because the water temperature, however we finished strong. Last day out before a tropical depression moved in, I caught 11 blue sharks, and lost a mako twice. Ben enjoys fried chicken... So I bring him a couple drum sticks to make sure he is happy. Great fisherman, fun to fish with. T

Thomas Ingram October 18, 2018
google

Had a great trip with Captain Ben. Caught a bunch of mackerel, pollock and cod. He really ensures you are having a great time and getting on fish. Definitely recommended.

William Stump September 30, 2018
tripadvisor

Captain Ben knows what he is doing! He is an expert fisherman and can read all the subtle signs as to when your fishing target is in the vicinity. We were able to catch 5 blue sharks. Two of them were so large they snapped the line! The other charters were coming up with

Lorna L September 1, 2018
tripadvisor

We couldn’t have picked a better charter than Captain Ben! Ben brought us right to the sharks and has unbelievable knowledge of fishing in the area. There’s a reason a lot of his customers are repeats. We had a great day and are looking forward to doing it again. Highly

DLane22 September 1, 2018
facebook
recommends

We went out with Capt Ben on July 18th and we were not disappointed! It turned out to be a beautiful day on the water and Capt Ben put us on 3 gorgeous Blue Sharks! Capt Ben is a very knowledgeable guide with a lot of experience and very personable. We highly recommend his services and most definitely would book a trip with Kristin K Charters again!

Joe Lucas July 23, 2018
facebook
recommends

Capt Ben is a great guide!

google

Choose this charter over all the others. The captin was great to fish with and very informative. We caught 16 fish from our party of 3. The boat was clean when you come aboard and the ride out was amazing. If we seemed to not get any bites, the captin quickly rerouted and took us to where the fish were biting. I would book this again.

Michelle June 16, 2018
facebook
recommends

Great day out to sea with the family! We will definitely be booking more trips in the future!

Megan Marie September 11, 2017
facebook
recommends

Went out with Captain Ben. 3 kids, 2 adults. It was great we all caught stripers! Kids had a blast on the boat. Captain Ben is totally patient, relaxed and knows his stuff. Was a great time! Definitely will go out again! Thanks Ben!!

Sarah Stacey September 5, 2017
google

A group of four of us try to go out with cpt. Ben once a summer. His personality and skills keep us entertained and fish on the lines. We highly recommend him for your fishing charters.

Daniel Boyce August 27, 2017
facebook
recommends

Unfortunately my phone wouldn't let me post the pics in the visitor posts, so i can only go by words- it was a blast! Captain Ben put my uncle and myself on multiple sharks on a day that everyone around us was struggling to catch fish, we hooked into ten and caught seven. We were definitely not disappointed, that's for sure, thank you captain Ben and Kristen k for putting us into hard fighting shark action!

Mike Dube Jr. August 18, 2017
facebook
recommends

Went out with captain Ben today and had a great day! Beautiful weather and plenty of action to keep everyone happy! Started of with a few mackerel and pollock, then spent the rest of the day pulling in blues. We will absolutely be returning sooner than later! Thanks Ben!

Brandon Sutherburg August 15, 2017
facebook
recommends

We had a wonderful trip. Couldn't have asked for a better day and we were able to come home with a full cooler!

Jennifer Pert July 26, 2017
facebook
recommends

We had a great time shark fishing! We literally caught sharks until we physically couldn't catch any more! Captain Ben knows his stuff! We will definitely be back!

yelp

This was such a great experience, before we even got back to shore we booked another trip. Ben was a great captain, he was extremely easy going,friendly,...

Samantha H. July 18, 2017
facebook
recommends

Capt Ben knows his stuff. Gets to the fish quickly and safely. Been out with him more than once and will only go with him. Keep up the great work , Capt.

Bruce De Lugo July 16, 2017
google

Captain Ben is in a league of his own!! We spent a day fishing with him and caught a variety of fish, big and small, and ended up limiting out on Haddock! We couldn't have had a better time with a fishing guide - Ben is just a blast to fish with - the best guide and the best day fishing we have ever had! Highly recommend for anyone with kids, too. We will be back!!! Thank you for such a great time Ben!!

facebook
recommends

This was an amazing trip! The pricing was extremely reasonable to be able go out in the water with such a knowledgeable person. Will for sure be a repeat customer.

Danika McClenahan September 26, 2016
facebook
recommends

Cpt. Ben was great. Everyone in our party caught sharks. Very good trip. It was exciting and relaxing all at once. Recommend to anyone and everyone. You won't be dissipointed.

Benjamin Getchell September 15, 2016
facebook
recommends

A great day!! Ben made it so fun and comfortable for the while family well worth every penny! We will definitely be doing this again!

Amanda Lema August 28, 2016
facebook
recommends

Kristin k charters by far the best charter fishing boat I've been on, we slayed the sharks (16) while other boats were wanting to know our secret!!! Ben is a great captain with lots of knowledge of the area and sea life, I would recommend him to anybody looking for the absolute best time on the ocean. Can't wait to grounds fish with you in sept!!

Richard Rinaldi August 1, 2016
facebook
recommends

If you or your friends are looking to go offshore fishing Kristin K charters out of portland maine is the boat to be on. Captain Ben will put you on fish. We caught 16 blue sharks. Awesome day. I highly recomend him to anyone!!

Tyler Finley July 31, 2016
facebook
recommends

We went shark fishing today and caught 16 blues and lost 4 more. Non-stop action and excitement. He put us on the fish fast and while we were slaying the blues we heard other charters on the radio hadn't caught anything. Very knowledgeable and a very nice guy. Would recommend him to anyone that wants a charter on the ocean.

Cory Brown July 30, 2016
facebook
recommends

We at Katahdin Fire Company took a company fishing trip and had a blast!! Great captain, great weather, and awesome results!!! He got it done for us and it may become an annual trip. Thanks Ben!!

Scott Dionne July 17, 2016
google

I was very impressed with the family fun cruise. I took out my 5 year old and he had a blast. Captain Ben was very personable and did great entertaining my boy's questions about fish and the ocean. We caught a ton of fish and it was the perfect amount of time. At 1:45 into a 2 hour trip, my boy said he was done and ready to go home. Ideal for anyone looking to take out young kids. Already booked him for when we come back this summer!

Russell Wood May 31, 2016
facebook
recommends

Wow We had a lot of bites and the website page will have pictures of the boat

Alex Ross May 5, 2016
google

Been chartering with Capt Ben for about 10 years. He has a fast boat and we always catch fish. It's funny that other captains are always calling him on the vhf to find out where the bite is. He is confident not cocky, and treats us like friends not clients. Highly recommend Kristin k charters in Maine

John Omally January 23, 2016
facebook
recommends

What a great trip. Even though we stayed in a huge fog bank, it was incredible! We still saw dolphins, seals oh and caught 8 blue sharks! Highly recommend thanks again Ben!

Rachel Kennedy September 20, 2015
facebook
recommends

Had a great time. All 5 of us hooked a shark. Verry relaxed atmosphere would highly recommend

Joey Tee September 19, 2015
facebook
recommends

Ben was great!! We had a great time! Highly recommend! Can't wait to fish with him in the Florida Keys

facebook
recommends

What an adventure. Eight big blue sharks!!! Lots of fun and excitement fishing with Captain Ben. I highly recommend Kristen K. Sport Fishing.

Chris Watusm August 9, 2014
facebook
recommends

Great day fishing with Ben!

Guy Conner August 6, 2014
facebook
recommends

Best fishing trip ever!

Robby Troje August 3, 2014
facebook
recommends

Awesome trip. Won't ever book anywhere else. Relaxed environment. Big hard fighting sharks. Great information from the Capitan as well. The trip was everything I could wish for and than some. Thanks for everything Ben we had a blast! You will certainly hear from us in the future!

Joshua Field July 20, 2014
facebook
recommends

Great day!! Lots of fun and lots of sharks.

Joey Nelson July 20, 2014
facebook
recommends

Had a great day!

Ann Krummen June 30, 2014
google

What an Adventure! My husband caught 9 sharks....8 Blue sharks and 1 Mako. Never in a million years did we think we would even catch 1! The first shark was a 12' Blue and it hit the line within 40 minutes. Captain Ben's expertise made this an extremely successful charter. We have no regrets. What we do have are exciting and thrilling memories that we will never forget. Dana and Ray Davisburg, MI

Dana Fox August 13, 2013
google

Capt Ben and Kristin K charters have taken myself and my family out for about 10 years now. We always have a great time and usually catch some great fish. His boat is clean, fast, and always in tip-top shape. My family has also fished with Capt Ben Gardner in the Florida Keys. Highly reccomend to anyone interested in a great day on the water. THANK YOU KRISTIN K CHARTERS

morris lewis January 24, 2013
google

Capt Ben has been taking me out on the ocean fishing for years. We always catch fish and have a great time with Kristin K Charters. He is a true proffesional and works hard to make sure everyone is happy. I fish all over the world, and keep coming back to Kristin K Charters.......they ARE THAT GOOD

george gardner June 25, 2012
google

This was the best charter I have ever been on and I have fished all around the world. Capt. Ben really knows the offshore waters in Maine. He put me and my family on so many monster sharks and we broke off a Giant Bluefin Tuna. He was wonderful with my children and taught us how to fish. He runs a first class biz, and everything he told us prior to booking came true. We will be back every summer. Thanks so much.

google

Captain Ben took my son, my daughter and I on the most incredible shark fishing charter this last summer. He knew exactly where to go leaving South Portland to catch and release 11 sharks in one day. I would definitely recommend Kristin K Charters and Captain Ben!

Bruce Wood February 23, 2011

GREAT FAMILY FUN

LET’S GO!